New Designers Part 2 Award Winners

Monday, 19 July 2010

Tortie Hoare, Bucks New University
New Designers, London’s annual showcase of almost 3,500 British design graduates, held its Part 2 Awards Evening earlier this month. There were eight winners across seven different categories, with prizes on offer including business start-up funds, legal advice and PR services.

The New Designer of the Year title was presented to Tortie Hoare, a graduate of Bucks New University who has used the medieval process of boiling leather to create a distinctive range of furniture.

Kevin Scott, De Montfort University; James Michael Shaw, Kingston University
New Designer of the Year – Runner Up was Kevin Scott, a De Montfort University graduate who has designed a collapsible bicycle which can be folded securely around lamp posts and bike racks.

James Michael Shaw from Kingston University won the 100% Design Award for his spun metal product range. As part of his prize he will be exhibiting at the show this September.

Rich Pearson, Sheffield Hallam University
The Virgin Atlantic Airways Award was presented to Rich Pearson of Sheffield Hallam University (see our recent profile), whose design makes thoughtful reuse of materials and objects.

Hannah Davies, One Year On

Yui Waraporn of New College Nottingham received the Sky Creative Award for her project Second Life, which focussed on sustainability. The Hallmark Award was won by graphic designer Alison Mehta from Duncan of Jordanstone College, University of Dundee, while illustrator Hannah Davies received the One Year On Award.

Sarah Housley